Kechi's Blog

You have to keep on living

f237ee17-47f2-4b9e-95f1-a9a3eee018d3_400x408

My Dad was one of my biggest cheerleaders growing up. When I lost him to cancer, I was completely devastated.

Before that time, I had gone through a major heartbreak, so it felt like there was nothing to live for anymore.

I cried for days and lost so much weight. I recall walking through the funeral like a zombie, silently grieving, and thinking about all the plans we had that would never come to fruition.

A week after his passing, while I was doing the dishes with swollen, tear-stained eyes, my mom said, ā€œKechi, you have to get outside and keep living.ā€

But I didnā€™t want to keep living. There was just no reason to, or so it seemed at the time.

As I went outside that day, sitting on the steps of our verandah under the hot African sun, it hit me. I HAD TO GO ON LIVING. It was the best that I could do.

I had to tell stories, make art, write poetry, cook meals, travel to places, and make memories. That was how I would honor my Dad and all the people who came before me and serve the people who would follow me.

I had to keep living so I could honor all my ancestors and generations to come.

Perhaps you are going through a difficult time of grief, loss, or rejection. Remember, ā€œYou have to keep livingā€.

This is precisely the time when artists go to work. There is no time for despair, no place for self-pity, no need for silence, no room for fear. We speak, we write, we do language. That is how civilizations heal. -Toni Morrison