Kechi's Blog

So it is, See to it

This morning I read an article in The Paris Review about Octavia Butler's notebooks. Here is a selection below;

4_octaviabutler-2_inside_cover

I've been thinking about what I want for my own writing life. I know I don't necessarily want to be a bestselling author but I don't know if that is just out of fear that I could never be one.

I also resonate very deeply with Beth Pickens' words in her book, Make Your Art No Matter What, "putting the burden of income on your art practice will create a pressure and expectation that can lead to resentment and abandonment".

I write because I'm a writer; I need this practice to be a healthy, whole person. Even if no one reads what I write, and I never become rich and famous.

So I guess my motto is: So it is! See to it!